Adobe has a whole set of procedures to troubleshoot the start up of Lightroom. One of their recommendations is:

  1. Create a new user
  2. Switch to the new user
  3. Start Lightroom

Do you still have the same problem?

Why are they asking to create a new user? Adobe wants you to identify if the problem is with the catalog, the preference file or the user permissions.

  • The preference file is per user and it could be corrupt:
OS Preference File Location
OSx [username]/Library/Preferences/com.adobe.Lightroom.plist
Windows Vista Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\Lightroom 2 Preferences.agprefs
Windows 7 Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\Lightroom 2 Preferences.agprefs
Windows Vista Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\Lightroom 3 Preferences.agprefs
Windows 7 Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\Lightroom 3 Preferences.agprefs
Windows XP Documents and Settings[username]\Application Data\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\Lightroom Preferences.agprefs

So instead of creating a new user, you just have to rename them to Lightroom Preferences.agprefs.original on Windows or com.adobe.Lightroom.plist.original on Mac.

If that was the problem, then either you will have to restore your preferences from a backup. If it is was not the problem then you can rename the preference file to the original name.

  • BTW, Lightroom does NOT backup any of your preferences or photos… Lightroom only backs-up the catalog.
  • [username] Is your own user name that you signed on