Q: Whenever I open a specific Lightroom catalog, I get the error message that the Lightroom catalog is used by another program

A: At some point when you were using this Lightroom catalog, you either:

  • Aborted Lightroom without closing it properly
  • Crashed Lightroom
  • Rebooted your computer without closing Lightroom

You will need to:

  1. Close Lightroom
  2. Go to the folder/directory that contains the Lightroom catalog
  3. Delete the file that has the name of your catalog and ends with .lrcatlock
  4. Restart Lightroom